Slumdog Millionaire (Perfect film score/soundtrack)

n56927411995_1926653_8772[1]

This post is solely dedicated to the music of the movie (Slumdog Millionaire: Music from the Motion Picture). “Slumdog Millionaire” phenomenon dominated the world. It was like Bollywood has finally succeeded to introduce itself to the international market and audience . And with the big Hollywood production and touch it was as perfect as it could get . Winning 8 Oscars and ranked among IMDB‘s top 250 movies list .

A film that is drenched in music . Thanks to the genius tune-smith “A. R. Rahman”. He spent two months planning for the film score and songs , then finished recording and producing  in 20 days. The original score and soundtrack have won 2 Golden Globes , Oscars and Grammys. “Danny Boyle” has mentioned that choosing Rahman , was because of his diverse talent . This influence of classic music , EDM , R&B and hip hop.

“O.. Saya”

The very first song in the movie . Rahman’s vocals are haunting and M.I.A.’s cool lyric input lingers on . It was nominated for an Oscar , but lost to the other song in the movie “Jai Ho”. The song is the underprivileged Indian kid drawing from his internal pain and the story of his life . To take us all in this journey , knowing by heart the nature and essence of this world. So we would expect all tragedies that would befall the characters. The song is your ticket to this epic ride . The sound and rythem of the song , reflects the energy and the thrill of the movie. Hectic , vibrant , riotous , violent , wounded and damaged one.

“Pick up that pack on my journey
Don’t suddenly start to follow me
I am in a luck, some days they suck
When we live by the buck, we get for the family

Street shops have made me shifty
Like a ninja with speed I am nifty
I hope I live till I am fifty
See my city go from gritty to pretty”

“Mausam & Escape”

One of my favorites in the soundtrack. There’s nothing like it , its sound is hundred percent Slumdog Millionaire. I just love how it starts as this sentimental , silky , sensational tune. Then blows out of proportion in the most dramatic way. It’s this mixture of Indian classic music and contemporary beats and sounds. The sitar’s – an Indian musical instrument- is present in the song ( check the video below) . It almost feels like it’s not supposed to simply be this track on a film . It’s a masterpiece on its own. That should be celebrated as a genius piece of music .

“Paper Planes”

One of my favorite songs in the movie and in general. It was the first time I ever heard M.I.A. . I’m not a rap fan , but I think I like her all right . I don’t listen to all her music and albums or anything . But I know some of her songs and I like her vibe and swag. To me , the lyric speaks to the movie and its world. It’s also universal . It tells fragments of the life of street children and hustlers . Victims of society , who usually end up in the worst predicaments .  Killing , stealing , or both . M.I.A. wrote it about U.S. government’s perception and stand against visa-seeking immigrants from the third world . She states that paper planes themselves allegorize visas.  I love the scene that comes with the song . It’s a match made in heaven and well though of . Just like everything else in the movie.

The song’s backing track or melody is sampled from “The Clash” song ” Straight to Hell” . So actually no, this cool beat is not M.I.A. and Diplo’s genius . At a first listen , the song is so groovy and just another cool pop song to dance to. On a much deeper level , it’s a very political song . Particularly for those who come from third world countries .

“I fly like paper, get high like planes
If you catch me at the border I got visas in my name
If you come around here, I make ’em all day
I get one down in a second if you wait”

“Ringa Ringa”

This one is not an original . It’s Rahman’s remix and version of an Indian hit from the nineties “Choli Ke Peeche” . This  totally makes sense , it does sound and feel like a classic Indian experience . It’s what you expect when you listen to Indian soundtracks. I checked the song  translated in English . The lyrics talk about a girl who gets violated by a man. The helplessness , the pain and the restless night.

It’s a very dark and serious predicament . On the other hand , the song sounds very catchy and joyous . Which I found genius considering the scene that accompanies the song in the movie . We see “Latiqa” as this child prostitute , all dolled and dressed up . To the passer by she looks as a beautiful young thing in jewels and colorful garment .The actual truth is that this helpless young thing is being violated , and she has nothing to do about it .

“Gangsta Blues”

This one is so energetic.R&B and hip hop influence is noticeable . It gives this vibe of the underground world and the pain . Every time I listen to it , I get a little bit irritated inside. It truly sounds like the miserable reflections of a troubled soul. It has this infectious energy , that sucks the life and peace of mind out of all that is a round. It’s one of my least favorites in the movie. No wonder it’s linked to “Salim” , the kind of villain and bad seed in the movie.

“Latiqa Theme”

Oh man! I don’t know how to put this into words . I adore this one from the bottom of my heart. It’s one of the two instrumentals in the soundtrack . First of all , I love how it plays every time “Jamal” thinks of Latiqa , remembers her or even breathes her name. It’s truly a theme for his unconditional love. It echoes longing , yearning and lovers’ blues. The music takes time to prove itself and to build up . Just like their love story throughout the years in the movie . Immersing you in this sentimental , emotional and soulful world. It transcends you .

On a personal level , this one makes me cry every time . It helped me through some dark moments , and soothed my heart. This humming of Suzanne in the piece , penetrates my soul and takes over my body. It’s so intimate and spiritual. So I listen and I shut the world outside and I think serenity , release , pleasure , love and bitter-sweet tastes of everything.

“Liquid Dance”

This one sounds and feels like an anthem.  It reminds me in someway with “Mausam & Escape”. The first few times I’ve listened to the two compositions , I couldn’t distinguish or set them apart. They both sound like nothing you have ever came across or heard before . Both have a contemporary sound , mixed with a classic Indian sound or vibe.This piece of music makes you dance gleefully , excites and shakes your very core , triggers and arouses you to anticipate action and thrill.

“Jai Ho”

The very last song of the movie , and the Oscar and Grammy winning one. The director was the one who wanted the song at the end of the movie , accompanied with the dance number. The song and the dance sequence that came out of nothing, was a tribute to Indian and Bollywood movies and flavor. Also , it embodies the feel-good energy of the film. The song features lyrics in Hindu , Punjabi , Urdu and Spanish . Critics have cited it as the best song in the movie Soundtrack. I don’t think it’s my favorite.

Rahman was asked if he though this one was his best creation . His answer was that he thought Jai Ho was right for that particular moment of the film and the mindset of Slumdog Millionaire . After all that Jamal has went through and all the darkness, this was the perfect and happy closure.The lyrics sum up the story of the protagonist Jamal . Translated in English , it’s about breaking free and triumph. The group “Pussycat Dolls” created a version of the song that has been received favorably by critics “Jai Ho (You Are My Destiny)”.

“Jai Ho
Victory to thee

Aaja aaja jind shamiyane ke tale aaja
Come,come my life, under the canopy of life

Jariwale nile aasman ke tale
Come under the blue brocade sky!

Ratti ratti sachi maine jaan gavayi hai
Bit by bit,I have lost my life , in faith

Nach nach koylo pe raat bitayi hai
Spent my nights dancing on coal

Akhiyon ki neend maine phoonko se uda di
I have blew away the sleep of my eyes

Gin gin taare maine ungalee jalaayee hai
I have burnt my fingers by counting the stars”

Leave a comment